Live Last Night: The Pretenders

NME Music journalist turned Pretender-in-Chief Chrissie Hynde.

Reviewed for Post Rock.

No “My City was Gone.” Tainted by association with Rush Limbaugh, I guess.

Pretenders at the 9:30 Club, Monday, February 2, 2009

The Setlist

01 Boots of Chinese Plastic
02 Don’t Cut Your Hair
03 Talk of the Town
04 Message of Love
05 The Nothing Maker
06 Love’s a Mystery
07 Back on the Chain Gang
08 Rosalee
09 The Last Ride
10 Tequila
11 Stop Your Sobbing (Ray Davies)
12 My Baby
13 Don’t Get Me Wrong
14 Thumbelina
15 Brass in Pocket
16 Bad Boys Get Spanked
17 Tattooed Love Boys
18 Break Up the Concrete


19 Kid
20 Precious

    ENCORE 2:

21 The Wait
22 Up the Neck

The Band

James Walbourne – lead guitar

Nick Wilkinson – bass

Eric Heywood – pedal steel

Martin Chambers – drums

Chrissie Hynde – vocals, rhythm guitar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s